Tags

, , ,

Hello there, it’s been a while since my last post. Instead of regaling you with tales of travels and excitement (sadly, there are no tales to tell), I’ll get started with this post.

I woke up the other morning and I had a hankering to do something creative. It had been a while since I’d done anything other than work, work, work and clean my house. As fun as that is, sometimes a girl just needs a break 🙂

A while back, cough*Christmas*cough, I thought I would make some coasters to have extras around the house. If I liked how they turned out, I would make some to give as gifts. So, six months later, I finally made one batch of coasters.

I grabbed all my supplies: some scrapbook paper, some ModPodge, cork coasters to glue paper to, a paintbrush, something to trace around (I used a candle holder), scissors and a pencil to trace with (not shown – tragic, I know).

Supplies

I got the cork coasters from Ikea. I got them so long ago, I don’t remember how much they cost. But they were cheap.

After gathering supplies, I traced a circle onto the back of some scrapbook paper. I didn’t want any pencil marks showing through if I didn’t cut the circles perfectly. And let’s be honest, circles are hard to cut.

Trace, trace baby

Once I had all my circles traced, I cut them all out. Four coasters, four circles. I decided it would be a good idea to put ModPodge on the back of the scrapbook paper as well as the top. So I slathered the glue all over the back of the paper like so.

Look at that slather

Once I had the glue slathered on the back, I placed it on the cork coaster. I wanted to make sure it didn’t slide around while I was ModPodging the top (sure, that’s a word) so I placed a heavy candle holder on top. I knew it would cover the whole circle because I used the base of the candle holder to trace the circles.

Double Duty

Once I was happy with how the paper was sticking to the coasters, I ModPodged the top of the paper and coaster. I covered the whole thing in glue. I think I did 3 layers, waiting for each coat to dry in between.

Extreme Close Up

All the coasters

And there ya have it, DIY coasters. Easy, cheap and got out some of my crafting urges. Now, enjoy a nice cold beverage on the first day of summer.

– Sylvia

